powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

- - 2006-12-05
Ugh - 2006-11-07
Competely random... - 2006-10-19
When Mold Attacks... - 2006-09-18
In lieu of a real post... - 2006-08-22

In lieu of a real post...

2006-08-22 - 5:14 p.m.

I'm still formulating an interesting entry about Pennsic. Considering this is me, you might not want to hold your breath on the interesting bit...

However, I will try to get something up about Pennsic sometime in teh near future.

So, since I'm bored and waiting for my diafiltration to be finished (ask me what it means if you don't know and really need to sleep RIGHT NOW)..

Stolen from AoD (sorry, I still can't remember how to html link a webpage...)

1. When was the last time you shaved? Sunday. I was at Pennsic for a week, remember. Shaving was a premium, but only after the layer of grime was washed off (which took about 2.5 showers)

2. What is your favorite flavor of JELLO? I DESPISE Jell-o. When I was 10, I had strep throat for 6 months (yes, you read that correctly). I lived on soup and Jell-o, because my throat was consistantly too swollen to allow solid food to pass. It was miserable...


3. Do you enjoy looking at your myspace profile? I don't have a myspace account. I occassionally like to look at my LJ profile, just to see if anyone new has friended me.

4. What does your favorite candle smell like? I'm allergic to the majority of scents used in candles and lotions and such. There are very few exceptions, but occassionally Bath and Body Works comes up with something that won't make my sinuses close up and my brain attempt to explode and ooze out my ears.

5. Are you any good at math? Only if I don't think too hard about what I'm doing. And that goes for simple kinds of math, like algebra, statistics and such. Calculus is right out.

6. Are any of your great-grandparents still alive?,/i> Yes, my great-grandmother on my mother's side (my mother's maternal grandmother) is 94 or so, and currently livign with my granparents (who are in their early 70's). I have been lucky enough to know 3 of my great-grandparents.

My family is very young, on my mother's side.

7. When was the last time you spoke in front of a large group of people? Define 'speak'. I said a few minor things in front of a fair amount of people when I marshaled the FS tourney last week, but I'm not sure that counts as 'speaking.' I hate public speaking with a burning passion.

8. Who should get number one on People magazine's sexiest list? They still do that? I'm not exactly the most up-to-date person on celebrity stuff.

9. What is one of your favorite things to do when it's cold outside?
Depends. Is there snow on teh ground? If there's snow, I love sledding and things like that.

10. What is one of your favorite things to do when it's hot outside?
Swim, if possible.

11. What was the last TV show you watched? I don't watch TV, although I've recently become addicted to DVD's of TV shows. If that counts, then I'd have to say Babylon 5.

12. Do you have any famous ancestors? Well, according to my grandmother, somewhere on that side of the family, we are related (somehow) to William Shakespeare and William the Conquerer. Not sure I believe it though.

13. Do you sleep with the door to your room open or closed? Currently closed, because I am watching a friend's dog, who stays in teh room with me. Normally, open, cause it just gets too damned hot on the 3rd floor.

14. Do you have a secret identity? If I told you, I'd have to kill you...

15. Have you ever sniffed magic markers? Only the ones that smell like friuts and stuff. Though I hated the licorice smelling one...

16. What was one of your favorite toys as a child? My bike. I used to go everywhere on that thing.

17. Are you good at cooking anything in particular? No one in their right mind allows me near a stove without adult supervision. I set myself on fire (with an electric stove...think about that one for just a second) when I was in high school.

18. Do you have any injuries right now? Do long-term injuries still count as injuries, or at some point does it just become chronic pain?

19. Do you have a credit card? Several, but I don't use them.

20. Have you ever taken out a loan to pay for school? Several, unfortunately. I owe the government my first-born, provided I were to ever actually spawn.

21. Do you know the words to the song on your myspace profile?
See the answer to the previous question about myspace...

22. Do you have DSL, cable or dialup? DSL for internet, DirectTV for TV (which I don't watch)

23. Do you ever leave messages on people's answering machines/voice mail? If I didn't, I'd never talk to anyone. People never answer the phone.

Ummm...that's just me, right?

24. Have you ever wanted to look like someone else? No. I'd like to look like me, only thinner (and maybe just a hair taller), but aside from that, I'm fairly comfy with myself.

25. What's your favorite frozen treat? Depends. Sometimes ice cream, sometimes I crave popsicles. During the summers (since I can get it now) I routinely crave Rita's.

26. Are you an organized person?
Not overly. I can be, but it doesn't usually last more than a day or 2.

27. Do you think you have an OCD about anything? I have several minor ones (one of the few things I inherited from my mother), but nothing like tapping, or organizing (see the above question). However, I'm not telling anyone what they are.

28. Who did you lose your CONCERT virginity too? Billy Joel and Elton John in the Meadowlands.

*sigh* ok, TECHNICALLY, it was Kenny G, but I was 10, and was forced to go by my mother. I'm still embarassed.

29. What are your guilty pleasures? I'm not Catholic, or Jewish. I have no guilt.

30. Are you a fast reader? Painfully. I am willing to bet I was the only kid in teh world who's parent refused to buy them more books. I routinely finished 100 page books in a night when I was 6, and then asked for another one the next day. My mother hated it.

31. Have you ever put "yes please" by sex on something you had to fill out? Nah. Too unoriginal.

32. Have you ever vandalized anything? I'm a firefighter. I like to call it 'legalized vandalism."

33. Are you afraid or bothered by something that others find strange? I don't like making phone calls to people I don't know. It took me years to be comfortable calling for pizza or chinese and stuff like that.

I also used to be terrified of fire. It's a funny world, isnt' it?

34. Do you draw your name in the sand when you go to the beach? If I'm at the beach, I'm usually in the water, or sleeping on the sand. No time to write things, usually.

Besides..."fool's names, like fool's faces...."

35. Do you use Twizzlers as straws? ICK!!! I hate Twizzlers.

36. What's the most painful dental procedure you've had? Having my wisdom teeth taken out. They knocked me out with nitrous oxide and valium, but my liver is too efficient and I woke up while they were in the process of cutting open my gum and cracking one of the teeth in half to get out (it was growing in sideways). It took about 2 or 3 minutes for me to be able to make a noise to let them know I was awake. Yes, I remember the whole thing, even the smell of the burning tooth as they cut through it. Not an experience I want to repeat, thanks.

37. Can you name all 50 states? Yes. I can even probably do the capitals too, if you give me enough time.

38. Is there a celebrity that you would like to punch in the face? Nah. I just don't care what they do that much.

39. Have you ever stepped on something sharp and had it go through your foot? Completely through, as in from teh bottom and coming out the top? No. But I did step on a thumb-tack once, and it took a while to pull out cause it had the flat head, and it was flat against my skin.

40. Have you ever been stung by a jellyfish? Several, since we used to go to NC in August a lot. Thankfully, most of them were partly dead, though one that was very much alive did managed to wrap itself around my legs in the current once. Left nasty welts on teh backs of my thighs for a few days, but the sting went away fairly quickly.

41. What's one of the dumbest home remedies that you've heard of?I don't hear that many, oddly enough.

42. Have you ever saved anyone's life? I can't remember. Almost 10 years of EMS, and all the calls seem to run together. I'm sure several people have THOUGHT I saved their lives, but I doubt it. I may have though, in part with other people.

43. Do you like what the ocean does to your hair? I love the ocean. 'Nuff said.

Still, it does tend to require me to use vast quantities of conditioner afterwards.

44. Have you ever received one of those big tins of 3 different kinds of popcorn for Christmas? Personally, no, but the family has on several occasions.

45. Have you ever been to a planetarium? A couple times, but I'm a country girl, so the best planitarium is my grandparent's house. You can see the Milky Way, and the sky is so full of stars, it's difficult to see the constellations because all the tiny little pinpricks of stars interfere. It would be easier if they would draw little lines like they do in the plantarium...

46. Do you use a lot of salt? Depends on the food, and my dehydration level.

47. Is your closet organized? Parts of it. (remember that OCD question?)

48. What is a funny sound to you? There are several. I can't think of any in particular right now.

49. Have you ever been complimented on something other than your looks?
My bedside manner.

50. Do you re-use towels after you shower? Up to a week. Then they MUST be washed.


Histeria - Futurama

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!